Blasphemy : New and Selected Stories

Blasphemy : New and Selected Stories

Description

"Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy, the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . . [Alexie] illuminates the lives of his characters in unique, surprising, and, ultimately, hopeful ways."--Boston Globe "Told in [Alexie's] irreverent, unforgettable voice . . . You'll feel you've been transported inside the soul of a deeply wounded people. But they are a people too comfortable in their brown skins to allow those wounds to break them. . . . With irony and sardonic wit, the Native men and women in Alexie's imagination find a way forward, and they endure. . . . [A] great triumph."--Los Angeles Times

Sherman Alexie's stature as a writer of stories, poetry, and novels has soared over the course of his twenty-book, twenty-year career. His wide-ranging, acclaimed fiction throughout the last two decades--from The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven to his most recent PEN/Faulkner Award-winning War Dances--have established him as a star in contemporary American literature.

A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases his many talents in Blasphemy, where he unites fifteen beloved classics with sixteen new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers. Included here are some of his most esteemed tales, including "What You Pawn I Will Redeem," in which a homeless Indian man quests to win back a family heirloom; "This Is What It Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona," a road-trip morality tale; "The Toughest Indian in the World," about a night shared between a writer and a hitchhiker; and his most recent, "War Dances," about a man grappling with sudden hearing loss in the wake of his father's death. Alexie's new stories are fresh and quintessential, about donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, a twenty-four-hour Asian manicure salon, good and bad marriages, and all species of warriors in America today.

An indispensable Alexie collection, Blasphemy reminds us, on every thrilling page, why Alexie is one of our greatest contemporary writers and a true master of the short story.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 0802121993
ISBN 13: 9780802121998

24 Oct 2013
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0316013692
ISBN 13: 9780316013697

08 Apr 2009
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0679755276
ISBN 13: 9780679755272

01 May 1995
Sandra Cisneros

ISBN 10: 0385721811
ISBN 13: 9780385721813

14 Oct 2003
Julie Otsuka

ISBN 10: 0873514289
ISBN 13: 9780873514286

15 Apr 2002
Laura Tohe

ISBN 10: 0802143571
ISBN 13: 9780802143570

30 Jul 2008
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0802144896
ISBN 13: 9780802144898

19 Aug 2010
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0802138004
ISBN 13: 9780802138002

15 Feb 2001
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0802141900
ISBN 13: 9780802141903

04 Oct 2011
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 080214117X
ISBN 13: 9780802141170

01 Apr 2004
Sherman Alexie

ISBN 10: 0826317243
ISBN 13: 9780826317247

01 Oct 1996
Keith H. Basso

ISBN 10: 0316270741
ISBN 13: 9780316270748

12 Nov 2019
Sherman Alexie